Murphy’s Law and Snow Ice Cream

It finally happened.

After 19 months of being on top of the diaper supply, we ran out.

I am usually paranoid about being out of diapers. I’ve always had extras in Evie’s closet, but Thanksgiving travels apparently threw me for a loop. Because suddenly, last Friday at the end of our snow storm, I was digging through all the bags, closets, and yet-to-be-unpacked suitcases looking for one lonely diaper, and there were none to be found.

Murphy’s Law, folks. Murphy’s Law.

I took a breath and resolved myself to getting dressed, de-icing the car, battling the roads, then battling whatever crazy crowd was at Walmart.

Then, my knight in shining armor spoke up!

Being the good daddy that he is (and good hubby, too), John volunteered to head to the store to grab a box of diapers for the kiddo. That’s saying a lot, because he was all warm and toasty, relaxing in his recliner.

John cleaning the car He had a lot of snow to clean off that car. So, I took advantage of the opportunity and snapped a picture of him. He despises pictures. Therefore, I grab them any chance I can get – even if it is of his back!

Getting back to business…
Once the car was cleared off, he and his sister Mary (yeah, same name as me. yeah, it gets confusing. I’m usually just “John’s Mary” when others are around.) ventured out into the cold and icy world for diapers — and fruit snacks.
Because currently, the child can’t seem to function without a fruit snack.
(We seriously need an intervention!)

Anyway, it still really irks me that I ran out of diapers, but Murphy’s Law did me good this time.

How?

Oh, I’m so glad you asked!
Not five minutes after they left, it seemed that all of my friends starting posting pictures of snow ice cream on Facebook and Instagram.
I’ve never liked it in the past, so I have no idea why I decided that “HEY! I need the ingredients for snow ice cream!”
Still, I called the courageous duo and had them bring home two cans of sweetened condensed milk. A friend swore by this recipe, so I figured I would give it a try.

Once they got home, I whipped up a quick batch of the wintery goodness. And goodness it was! As I said before, I have never liked snow ice cream. It was always too runny and slushy and just blah.
This, though, was different. It was like eating a really rich vanilla ice cream. Mmmmm!

It is so simple.

SNOW ICE CREAM

1 large bowl of snow (typically it is over flowing and I will separate into two bowls to do the stirring)
1 can (14oz) sweetened condensed milk
2 1/2 tsp vanilla  – I’m notorious for just splashing it in there, so I’m guessing on the amount

Drizzle the condensed milk and vanilla over the snow, mix, and enjoy.
Sweetened Condensed Milk Snow Icecream/ Murphy's Law and Snow Ice Cream @joyinthesemoments.com
Sweetened Condensed Milk Snow Icecream/ Murphy's Law and Snow Ice Cream @joyinthesemoments.com

So simple and yet so good.

Good enough that my husband asked for another bowl tonight.

Sweetened Condensed Milk Snow Icecream/ Murphy's Law and Snow Ice Cream @joyinthesemoments.com
The moral of the story?

Murphy’s Law is going to hit at some point or another. Just make sure you have the ingredients on hand  to make something sweet!

If you like this, see these other snow-related posts:
Chocolate Snow Ice Cream
White Chicken Chili
Chicken Pot Pie Soup
Easy Blackberry Cobbler

14 thoughts on “Murphy’s Law and Snow Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Snow Ice Cream | joy in these moments

    • We never, NEVER have snow this early – and especially not enough to make snow ice cream. But, we’ve already had 2 large storms. Makes me wonder what will happen when our real winter hits! 🙂

  2. Pingback: French Onion Soup | joy in these moments

  3. Pingback: Netflix, Crockpots, and a White Chicken Chili | joy in these moments

  4. Pingback: Snow Days and Chicken Pot Pie Soup | joy in these moments

  5. Pingback: Beauty in the Mess ~ Edition 2.13.13 | Beautiful In His Time

  6. Pingback: Beauty in the Mess ~ Edition 2.13.14 | Beautiful In His Time

Comments are closed.