DIY Valentine’s Day Wreath

After Christmas, my door looked sad. No wreath, no happy  colors. Just 3 weird angled windows and a not-so-pretty red paint.
Seriously, it’s not the prettiest door, so it needs as much glitter and pizzazz as it can get.
When we finally have our own “forever home”, I am splurging on a door that I love. But, that is YEARS down the road, so I have time to find the most spectacularly perfect door.

In the meantime, I have a wreath obsession. I have a whole Pinterest board dedicated to wreaths. I drool over them. I am envious of those who make these beautiful things.

And then I forget to make them.
I am forever pinning and never making. *face palm*
It’s kinda sad.
So, this year, I decided I had to have a wreath for Valentine’s Day.

I had originally wanted this wreath, but for the life of me, I couldn’t get it to look as cute. It seriously would have been featured on one of those Pinterest Fail blogs. I’m usually good at making my own stuff, copycatting, etc. This one, however, was just not destined to be.

And, thus began the experimenting. It took me what seemed like forever to finish the darn thing because I kept changing and tweaking. But, once I figured out what I wanted to do, it went by really fast.
If you try it, I promise it won’t take you as long. 🙂

Let’s get started, shall we?

I started off with these materials for the wreath. I purchased 1/4 yard of each material that I wanted to use on the wreath.
DIY Valentine's Day Wreath @joyinthesemoments.com
And these materials for the hearts – just some simple felt squares and some cross-stitch thread.
DIY Valentine's Day Wreath @joyinthesemoments.com
Step 1:
Lay out your material (I kept mine folded in half) and proceed to cut about 4″ strips the length of the material.
DIY Valentine's Day Wreath @joyinthesemoments.com          DIY Valentine's Day Wreath @joyinthesemoments.com

Step 2: Fold a 1/2″ tab the length of your material and iron it. (This will make for a more streamlined, no-fray overlap later.)

Step 3: Begin by gluing the excess material (not included in the fold) onto the wreath frame.

glue fold down
When you fold it over, it should look like this:
DIY Valentine's Day Wreath @joyinthesemoments.com
(Do not glue this first piece all the way down. Only glue the portion mentioned above. You will need this loose for later!)

Step 4: When you have the initial piece glued down, begin folding the material around the wreath. You will want about a 1/2″ to 2/3″ between the overlaps. (Often you can see the folded material underneath. I used that fold as a guide.) When you get to the end of the material, glue it down and add on the next strip of material.

DIY Valentine's Day Wreath @joyinthesemoments.com
This is how it looked halfway through.
DIY Valentine's Day Wreath @joyinthesemoments.com
Continue wrapping the strips until you have covered the whole wreath.
DIY Valentine's Day Wreath @joyinthesemoments.com
At the end you will come to a portion that looks like this.
This is where that loose piece of material from earlier comes in handy.
You will want to take your last piece of material (in my case, it was the red material), and tuck it underneath the first material (this would be the pink for me).
tuckingstep
(I wrapped the red material very close and pulled the pink up and over. I did this until all parts of the red were underneath the pink.)
Once completed, your wreath should be nice and “Valentiney”.
DIY Valentine's Day Wreath @joyinthesemoments.com
For the hearts, I simply drew out a template on my felt and cut them out.  (If you aren’t comfortable free-handing it, print off a heart picture and use that as your guide.) I made my hearts 3D, so you will need two of whatever colors you decide.

DIY Valentine's Day Wreath @joyinthesemoments.comDIY Valentine's Day Wreath @joyinthesemoments.com
Once cut out, use the cross-stitch thread to sew both hearts together.
I left a portion open and stuff scrap felt pieces into the hearts to make them more 3D heart pillows.
When they are all sewn up, you’re ready to hot glue these babies onto their new home.
DIY Valentine's Day Wreath @joyinthesemoments.com
My advice – lay the hearts onto the wreath first, so that you know where you want them to end up. Nothing worse than gluing something down, then realizing it looks REALLY dumb.
Been there, done that.

When you are done, you have awesomely created a one of a kind Valentine’s Day wreath!

DIY Valentine's Day Wreath @joyinthesemoments.com
I had some white material (seen in the first materials picture) that I ended up not using on the wreath itself). I figured this would make a perfect bow to hold the wreath as well.)

There’s just something happy about a door with a wreath – even if it’s a less than pretty door!

Linking up with:
Weekend Potluck
Follow our Thrift
Meet Penny and her Fabulously Frugal Valentine’s Day Ideas

3 thoughts on “DIY Valentine’s Day Wreath

  1. Pingback: 25 Popular Valentine's Recipes & Crafts Around the Web - Today's Frugal Mom™

Comments are closed.