A Rasberry Body Masque and a Toddler’s Pride

Raspberry Body Masque and a Toddler's Pride | Joy in These Moments

 

I raced around the house, scrambling to get everything together before I had to leave for work.
I was already running behind (which has been the norm these last few weeks).

Evie had her breakfast before her, which included some fresh raspberries. She’s recently developed a love for them, so I gladly gave her some of my favorite fruit.

Then, not 10 minutes before it was time for me to head to work, I peek into the living room where Evie had been eating and watching Thomas the Train.

There before me, in all her toddler happiness, was my daughter covered head to toe in freshly crushed raspberries.

My girlie girl LOVES lotions. That is her favorite thing to do with her Nana. They put on lotions and necklaces. So, this morning, in the absence of lotion, necklaces, and Nana, she had taken it upon herself to make today a spa day and created her own raspberry body masque.
I mean, I’m sure the seeds make a great exfoliate. And, I’m sure the berries have some antioxidants that benefit the skin.
They DO NOT, however,  benefit a cream colored carpet!

Pretty sure I had a momentary panic attack. That can only explain the calmness I experienced as I turned, walked to the kitchen and grabbed a washcloth to clean the impromptu spa day that was occurring my living room.

When she was clean, my daughter hopped up and gave a twirl. She threw her hands in the air, yelled “TA DA!”, then gave a deep (off balance) bow.

Her exuberance over her morning is what I love about her. She finds joy in so many things, things that I probably wouldn’t find joyous.
But some days, their laughter and joy is contagious.

And, some days, you just have to laugh!

My daughter inspired me today, so try out this great raspberry face masque..

Raspberry Face Masque
1/4 cup fresh raspberries
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup rolled oats

Use a blender or food processor to blend until oats are broken up and ingredients are combined.
Apply to damp skin. Allow to sit for 10-15 minutes, then wipe off.

Super fun and refreshing.
Then, when you are done, make sure you do a twirl, a “ta-da!” and a bow!
It apparently makes all the difference!

 

2 thoughts on “A Rasberry Body Masque and a Toddler’s Pride

  1. Pingback: Fruity Princess Wands | joy in these moments

  2. Pingback: The Measure of a Mother: Focusing on the Numbers That Matter | joy in these moments

Comments are closed.